Skip to content

wingless

Back in the day when kids actually played outside all the time , before xbox, before computers and before ipods ,we learned to make our own fun. You were  darn tootin’ lucky,( like my Dad used to say), if you had a tv in my ‘hood. We climbed monkey bars (trees), we explored the backyard ravine, dug up wildflowers and ferns  and funguses and hauled home’ clay’ from the river to make stuff out of. Ya, that wasn’t clay I later learned. Gack. We caught tadpoles in ditches and hatched them into frogs. We also tried  fishing in the little stream at the bottom of the gully with home made rods from twigs. No parents drove us around to ‘the mall’ to shop for fun, of for fast food when we had the inkling. No parents ever had to tell us to get outside and play. We wanted to.  There was no Disneyland for us. We didn’t need Disneyland. We had outside.That stuff was for the rich kids anyway, not to say rich kids didn’t play outside of course, and we weren’t rich by any stretch. Know what though? I am so grateful for that. I am so happy to have had the childhood I was given. I know my brother and sister are as well. Gosh, we couldn’t wait to get dressed on the weekends and get the heck out to play. We were gone. All freakin’ day. We came home tired, dirty,  hungry and happy. That  my friends is a good feeling. This is where my love of all things flora and fauna began. This is what I want for my kids.birdy2So, after my rambling introduction, I just want to share a few pics of what I found in my yard yesterday. It all started off as a lovely and  blissful Sunday morning. Cup o joe in hand, birds are a singing, sun is shining on. So here I am traipsing around the garden, pajama~ clad, looking for something other than weeds when I spy Willa the serial ~killer kitty stalking something in the dandelion lawn. I am thinking ewww, it is a mouse. Grim. I get closer, sloooooowly, to discover much to my chagrin that  in her hot feline mittens she has a wee baby bird. Total ride wrecker. I realize it is natural for kitty’s to do this but it doesn’t stop me from  shooing bad kitty away and try to rescue the sweet little baby. FYI, she hasn’t killed it but is curiously yet gently playing with it.

birdy3 I think it must have tumbled from its nest above because this lil beaker was way too young to fly. So we perched it in an egg carton in the apple tree and secured it up high away from the predators . Can you see her all tucked in there? She is just  mini bit.

b1 Poor Mama and Daddy Bird, they were having a sh*t fit. Swooping in and out, chirping,  probably screaming in bird lingo, more swooping, more chirping, they were on top of this situation like a hot damn. Good bird parents for sure in my book. Mama even brought little bugs and worms to baby trying to keep it fed and happy .  birdyWe spent all day caring for Beaker but she kept falling out of her home made nest. Poor tiny guy, she deserved a chance to fly. Everyone does. Do you think that the children of today will be as connected to nature as our generation because they are  so much more connected and plugged in to electronics? Why or why not? I would love to know your thoughts…….

birdy1

19 replies »

  1. Way to go, Kimberly! So awesome that you spotted, saved and built a new house to that cute chick! Great photographs, too!
    Regarding your question, I don’t know, I guess in the end only time will tell. I have hope they will be connected to nature though, because I think that if you teach them to love nature and to be in nature whenever they can, they will listen. I think our 6 y.o. daughter does, despite her loving computers (much like her dad!) I mean, she loves electronics but she also loves spending time outside playing with other kids in the yard, digging out worms or recording in a journal the different birds that come pay us a visit… 🙂

    • Yay…that is so great to hear about your daughter. I love that she journals… Sometimes I just worry a lot about the electronic age taking over.. I have two teenaged boys btw so that explains where my concern comes from. They are addicted to their gaming. It is just sad that they would rather sit inside their dark rooms and game rather than be in the light… I am sure it is just a stage…cross my fingers.. cheers. Thanks for the comment.

  2. Ahhhh, those WERE the days. Running free in the woods. Swimming in swimming holes and creeks. Catching waterdogs (Salamanders) hunting, fishing, playing tag and hide and seek and sledding, and learning how nature operates. And reading in the porch swing.

    Thanks for the reminder. I need to go outside, now, and play.

    John

  3. Ahhh…timely photos. My bad little bird dog just swallowed a baby this morning I am pretty sure. I didn’t see it, but clues included: a feather. Mad chirping. Him sitting pleased in his crate and swallowing several times. 😦 At least it didn’t suffer…last year the husband and I tried to feed a mockingbird baby like the one you found, but he died anyway. I guess we are nearly as bad as the bird dog!

  4. I often took my kids on nature walks..and I am glad that they now all share the beauty around them. Much better to watch a robin fly around your yard then being stuck in front of a television!

  5. I remember when our parents would kick us out of the house and tell us to come home around dinner time. You would be arrested if you did that today. But we did play outside more and in nature. Obviously, this had an effect on you, Kim. You are still in tune with nature and heed her calls. Beautiful post. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

  6. Well said. I grew up the same way, and I tried to instill the same love of nature in my kids, but man it was a battle sometimes to make them heed to the TV limits I imposed! Now 2 are in college and one is getting married; it will be interesting to see how they raise their kids. I think in their generation it’ll be even harder.

  7. I may not be the generation you’re refering to, a late 90’s kid, but I believe I’m still attached to nature as much as the years before me where. Although, being a horse-lover, I have been told I always had an odd need to be outside. I loved my Nintendo, and enjoyed some TV occasionally, but I loved nothing more than running off into “Abbyville” a little forest on the edge of my neighborhood, and worrying my mother by staying there all day, and then bringing home hundreds of tadpoles! I wish my baby cousins were like me. At the ripe ages of 5 and 2, both have ipods, and watch more TV a week than I do in a year! I always make a point of taking them outside every time I babysit them. Partially because it’s good for them, and partially because they go to bed easier! I’d like to say that the next generations will get closer to nature than this one, but I don’t think they will… Best I can do for now is introduce them to the fun of outside, and maybe a love for horses, and hopefully they’ll take that with them through life and give it to their kids.

    • I so appreciate what you just wrote so beautifully. I think life is all about the balance. Except when it comes to horses….LOL!! I could live and breathe them all day long. Us horse girls know that it is a good thing to be addicted to. They are my therapy since I was little.Even though I only owned my very own horse at the age of 42 ,I lived through them by riding lessons, reading every book non and fiction on them and drawing them. Lets cross our fingers and hope that the wee ones of today find a passion outside of a screen. You are doing a great job with your cousins. Yay!

  8. yup – the disconnect between children and nature is very sad. Years ago, my son climbed a tree in a city park suburbia. Someone watching called the police, who promptly arrived and gave my 7 year old a “ticket” – scared the eebeegeebees out of him. I had no idea it was illegal (I was standing nearby with some other moms whose sons had all scrambled down before mine). He’s a sensitive and smart boy. The message he took away from the experience is that nature gets you in trouble. It took a while for us to undo that.

    enjoying ur words and fotos lots 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 19,283 hits

Top Posts & Pages

Blog Stats

  • 19,283 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The HSD

What happens when a medical doctor becomes a stay-at-home, homeschooling mom

Stories that Must Not Die

Here, we commemorate survival.

Worldlittlelights

The journey of recording and musing over little lights

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

A FARNSWORTH A DAY

Paintings, Drawings, Photographs, Videos, Digital Art, and Words, by John Farnsworth

Riding on Water

Leaps of faith, of the equine kind

A Blog to Regret

It's hard being a teenager, especially when you're 30

L A F E I S T

truth slayer

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

authenticallyannamarie

exploring, creating, writing

The Queen Creative

The Business of Art & Absurdity

janyceresh

If sarcasm and self deprecating humour were an Olympic event I'd definitely qualify.

61 Musings

Musings from a 64 year old introvert.

What Lolita Eats...

Eating. Without it, I couldn't survive.

redpoppyseeds

-And art? -It's a disease. -Love? -It's a disappointment -You are a sceptic. -Defining means limiting.

osiochina

The Adventures of OSIO in Shanghai, China

benzeknees

A frustrated writer, who is her own worst enemy

FranceSays

Observations of life in France. By an adopted Française.

Front Yard to Backcountry

Cozy Homelife to The Wilderness and Back Again

quite simply

Life as I see it…

The Sale Ring

Results & Tips From McCarron Equine Appraisals

Bored in Vancouver

Bored in Vancouver

JD Kittles Photography

Sharing My Passion For Photography since 2006

The Purple Gypsy

A little cooking. A little rambling. A whole lot of coffee.

Eyes Like A Shutter / Mind Like A Lens

Photos & Ramblings from Studio B Photography

Into the dark blue sea

Original Poetry, Photography, Travel, Art, Essays

T's Adventures... Travel & Hiking Shenanigans

Just another un-important person taking up space on the internet.

Deliberate Donkey

we're telling secrets here

Feet from Shore

Photography adventures from a Spaniard living in Los Angeles

Around the World in Eighty Liters

one globetrotting couple. two forty liter backpacks.

A Flâneur Abroad

"flä-ˈnər , noun: One who strolls about aimlessly; a lounger; a loafer. "

SLR - See Love Remember

See the photos you love to remember

Just Add Attitude

A Lifestyle Blog

The German Perspective

Yours truly, madly, deeply! Lunatique

Wine and Cheese (Doodles)

Part aged wisdom, part trashy yumminess, always slightly salted observations about life, love, and living abroad

Musing by Mallie

my pictures & thoughts

Thai Thai Again: Traveling from Buddha to Buda until I was Shanghaied but I was Born in the U.S.A.!

My bags are packed and sadly I must leave Thailand, Hungary and Shanghai. I'm back in the U.S.A. and ready to keep on traveling!

My Thai Travel Tips

All you need to know about backpacking on a budget

the wanderatory

lessons in adventure, aimlessness and alchemy

theadventuresofmyfeet.wordpress.com/

Follow my feet as i travel through life...Just a big kid living out her dreams :)

Where Could I Be Now?

Follow Me On My RTW Trip

the bippity boppity beautiful blog

let's create something beautiful - Katie Ann De Crescenzo

Mary Ward Art

Drawings, Paintings, Embroidery, Paper, Mixed Media

When Life Hands You Lemons...

Figuring life out, one post at a time.

