Skip to content

old man winter

Old man Winter I was thinking I might have a wee chin wag with you today ( … it’s a long story involving hauling multiples of water buckets for horses and goats and llamas, really you don’t want to know.) but I changed my mind. I say bring it! Let it rip! Let us have a great dump of snow.  A big one, so flipping big we can’t open the front door. Like my Grandpa in Switzerland.He used to say when  he was a boy he could literally  ski off his roof because of the amount of snow that fell where he lived.That’s a nice picture isn’t it? It is what my yard apes dream of so they don’t have to go to school.

Maybe I will feel a little more ‘Christmasy’ and less like avoiding the dreaded shopping malls and the heaps of commercial holiday BS rammed in my face.

You reminded me today of Winters and Christmas holidays when I was a kid. When we had real icicles hanging from our houses.Not LED strings of icicles. When I used to count the colours of the lights on the house eaves from my childhood bed to fall asleep. A chant that went like this…. green, red, pink, yellow, orange,blue, green, red, pink, yellow, orange, blue, …. repeat. Some times the combo was mixed up due to a burnt out light or a replacement.

You reminded me of frozen farmers fields we would skate on and the hot cocoa dotted with mini marshmallows apres skate along with the oh so frozen feet and hands. So freaking frozen it hurt to put them near the heat. The days of a real wood burning fireplace to warm up by. The  waiting for Christmas or Japanese oranges to come out in the grocery stores. Sheesh’, now they are out everywhere  in  full force before Halloween, for crying out loud. Way to wreck a great tradition big box stores.BTW~ on the topic,  please stop playing Christmas Carols in November. Sheesh.

You reminded me of  school Christmas concerts and getting to wear our ‘best’ outfits. Of  all my Moms home baked treats like Nanaimo bars, snowballs, shortbread, sausage rolls. Of retro chip and dip bowls full of ripple potato chips and french onion dip, and the coveted soda pop we were ‘allowed’. Just at Christmastime. For me it was 7~up. Seriously that was a big fat hairy deal in our house.

Thank you old man Winter for today. You got me popping with the Spirit. I still don’t feel like buying anything yet mind you because we all know it isn’t about the presents. I know that. I do however remember wanting an easy bake oven as a 8 year old so bad I could taste it. I still remember the smell of the wrapping paper and the thrill of  guessing what could be hiding  under that mystery  wrap. Those little tags with “love, Santa” scribbled on them. I LOVE it!

I want to see and feel that excitement again. I want to be a kid again.  Sadly, that is not possible as I have three monkeys now of my own and as much as I am a ‘grownup’  somewhere inside my worn and older exterior I carry a childlike sense of wonder still . I feel the need to pass some of that sparkle on to them. To have traditions that they can talk about when they are all grown up on the outside. I hope they always keep a sense of ‘the magic in believing’ on the inside. Right now they are sceptical teenagers and their happiness factor goes up and down depending on the state of what’s in the cupboard or fridge to eat. They say I am weird and I say I don’t give a rats ass. I adore the thought of Santa flying through the night sky with his string of magical reindeer delivering presents to each and every child in the whole entire world. Like I always say, you gotta believe in the MAGIC or the magic won’t happen.

What are your favourite holiday traditions? What do you hope to pass on to your children?

bo11

16 replies »

  1. Omg I wanted that Easy Bake oven soooooo bad, do you remember how good those cakes tasted???
    How about shoveling frozen shavings into a really cool cave??
    Driving donuts on someones lawn…
    And yes i loved the icicles hanging from the eave and getting my tongue stuck when I finally knocked it down!!
    Sledding down whatever had a slope…
    Nuts and Mandarin oranges in my stocking…
    Hunting into the back forty of Green Lake on snowmobiles looking for the perfect tree!
    Crosscountry skiing through the neighborhood…
    And sure presents are nice but nothing beats hanging with family and friends…

    • Oh you just reminded me of super slider snow skates! Did you have those? Those were concussions in the making! Lol.
      Sherona, you hada great many awesome memories of winter too.. I wish that for my kids..hopefully they remember more than playing video games.

  2. I had an EASY BAKE oven and it was such a thrill. And then there was Dancerina – She had a crown you cranked and adjustable arms and legs – crank her up, hold her crown and watch her dance. She was a couple of feet tall. Boy were we blessed to be children before the age of computers.

  3. I believe in Santa and frosty and baby somewhere in a manger. I love all the old black and white Christmas movies.I have too many favorite memories and traditions to recall. That’s because I’m old,and I’ve stored them all away to bring out on a cold and frosty winters day. My gift to my children and grandson is to sit with them and tell the stories. I’ve told them they are now the keeper of the memories and every year they have to tell a favorite one. No technology needed, just a voice and a pair of ears. A batch of goodies and chocolate always make the stories a little better!

    • Hi Lorraine, so good to hear from you. I so love your comment so darn much, it makes me love Christmas even more.BTW~ you are not OLD!! lol… we miss you all over there. Maybe we can see you all over the holidays.If you are up for the trek we would love to have you all over.. Cheers! 😀

  4. Thank you for believing and sharing your inner child here! I find that the older I get, the goofier I become in some regards – especially around my 2 young-adult kids! And awesome clips here too. Linus and good ol’ Chuck always reaffirm the real meaning of the season for me, while tugging my heartstrings! Hugs to you from Gina xo

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 19,221 hits

Top Posts & Pages

Blog Stats

  • 19,221 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The HSD

What happens when a medical doctor becomes a stay-at-home, homeschooling mom

Stories that Must Not Die

Here, we commemorate survival.

Worldlittlelights

The journey of recording and musing over little lights

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

A FARNSWORTH A DAY

Paintings, Drawings, Photographs, Videos, Digital Art, and Words, by John Farnsworth

Riding on Water

Leaps of faith, of the equine kind

A Blog to Regret

"It's hard being a teenager, especially when you're 30"

key + arrow

a life + style blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

authenticallyannamarie

exploring, creating, writing

The Queen Creative

The Business of Art & Absurdity

janyceresh

If sarcasm and self deprecating humour were an Olympic event I'd definitely qualify.

61 Musings

Musings from a 64 year old introvert.

What Lolita Eats...

Eating. Without it, I couldn't survive.

redpoppyseeds

-And art? -It's a disease. -Love? -It's a disappointment -You are a sceptic. -Defining means limiting.

osiochina

The Adventures of OSIO in Shanghai, China

benzeknees

A frustrated writer, who is her own worst enemy

FranceSays

Observations of life in France. By an adopted Française.

Front Yard to Backcountry

Cozy Homelife to The Wilderness and Back Again

quite simply

Life as I see it…

The Sale Ring

Results & Tips From McCarron Equine Appraisals

Bored in Vancouver

Bored in Vancouver

JD Kittles Photography

Sharing My Passion For Photography since 2006

The Purple Gypsy

A little cooking. A little rambling. A whole lot of coffee.

Eyes Like A Shutter / Mind Like A Lens

Photos & Ramblings from Studio B Photography

Into the dark blue sea

Original Poetry, Photography, Travel, Art, Essays

T's Adventures... Travel & Hiking Shenanigans

Just another un-important person taking up space on the internet.

Deliberate Donkey

we're telling secrets here

Feet from Shore

Photography adventures from a Spaniard living in Los Angeles

Around the World in Eighty Liters

one globetrotting couple. two forty liter backpacks.

A Flâneur Abroad

"flä-ˈnər , noun: One who strolls about aimlessly; a lounger; a loafer. "

SLR - See Love Remember

See the photos you love to remember

Just Add Attitude

A Lifestyle Blog

The German Perspective

Yours truly, madly, deeply! Lunatique

Wine and Cheese (Doodles)

Part aged wisdom, part trashy yumminess, always slightly salted observations about life, love, and living abroad

Musing by Mallie

my pictures & thoughts

Thai Thai Again: Traveling from Buddha to Buda until I was Shanghaied but I was Born in the U.S.A.!

My bags are packed and sadly I must leave Thailand, Hungary and Shanghai. I'm back in the U.S.A. and ready to keep on traveling!

My Thai Travel Tips

All you need to know about backpacking on a budget

the wanderatory

lessons in adventure, aimlessness and alchemy

theadventuresofmyfeet.wordpress.com/

Follow my feet as i travel through life...Just a big kid living out her dreams :)

Where Could I Be Now?

Follow Me On My RTW Trip

Mary Ward Art

Drawings, Paintings, Embroidery, Paper, Mixed Media

When Life Hands You Lemons...

Figuring life out, one post at a time.

