Skip to content

sit with me

familyI used to steal books from the library.

I know…. I am  a bad person.

chairtuil3 copy

Actually, it was the dog. I am blaming it on the dog. Sophie the great hairy beast was a book eating canine. Among other things she liked just as well as library books were linoleum flooring, shoes and ginch, gonch, underpants or whatever you want to call them. All of them. All of them in great amounts.

This is where I apologize for t.m.i. :0  Sorry.

Being young and without piles of money I had ( at the time) no choice but to make the wrong ‘ish’ choice and I just kept them or whatever was left of them. I am now wiser and older but sadly and not unexpectedly my book karma bit me on the butt. Once I had my own children, yes you guessed it, I could not get a library card because I owed a small mortgage to the library Gods. Try explaining that one to your kids. “umm kids, Mommy is a bad lady and never returned her library books so you can not take books out of the library either now” No way, they have enough ammunition on me already ! Remember, there is a lesson to be learnt here.

Dogs and books don’t mix. Er…..

Yup, ok. Be responsible and buck up. I know that now, but back then I wouldn’t have been able to have fun and  drink 60 dollars worth of tequila and grapefruits on the weekends and have the liquid courage to pick up the DJ at the night club. Right?

What does this story have to do with these pictures you ask?

chairtuil7 copy

Everything.

Sophie the pirhrana dog nibbled a book that inspired my love of chairs , especially the ones that so elegantly sit in the Jardin des Tuileries in Paris. The Luxembourg chairs.

chairtuil6 copy

I still have it in all its desecrated glory too. Simply  “Chairs” is her name.

It is a gorgeous picture book featuring the lovely green chairs. What makes the book special is the snippets of conversation or  mindful thoughts  floating in the air after the people left. The people who had perhaps lazed away hours or even mere minutes in the park alone or with a friend or even perhaps a stranger.

Now every time I see a beautiful chair I think of these things. Who sat here? Were important decisions or exciting plans made here? Was there happiness here? Sadness?

In the end, it is Paris and that is enough. Just to sit here in Paris is everything.

chairtuil5 copy

That book was the inspiration for these photos I took in 2012 while travelling in beautiful Paris.

If I could sit anywhere right this moment it would be there. In a green chair in the Jardin des Tuileries with a nice coffee….. ahhhh….. and worry about when “payback time” is coming for me in regards to my three teenagers. Scratch the java,  make that a big glass of wine. 😀

Where would you sit? With anyone in particular or alone? What would you be thinking? 

chairtuil copy

12 replies »

  1. My parents have an ongoing joke that they will open a wing with the laid fees I have paid over the years. At least a few hundred dollars. Once I had $80.00 at once, because I get overambitious and check out about 14 books for 21 days. Which naturally I don’t get through.
    In Paris I sat with my friend Exa in chairs like these all over and had a lovely time. Thanks for bringing back memories of some resting our feet after tramping all over that lovely city!

    • Hi Kate! I am happy to hear you are a responsible book lover because if everyone were like me( back then..) there would be no more libraries. I too used to take out enormous piles of books, it is the best isn’t it? A treasure trove of words and ideas.. Thank you for taking the time to comment. I appreciate it. Cheers.

  2. Wow.. lovely post K. And thought provoking too! Got me thinking about how I luckily cleared up my ‘library karma’ before it got in the way of bringing home armloads of books with my 2 young ones. But I never saw such a lovely book as your chairs here. I know I’d enjoy sitting and chatting in chairs with you my dear friend, and we could talk about horses, and the fun of raising teens, and remembering how wild we were when we were teens… ah yes! Chairs. Outdoors. Under trees… or at least near them. Java.. wine… you name it. But all we need to begin is a lovely place to sit, and you’ve provided that!. Thank you, and Cheers. Gina xo

  3. This post was LOVELY, and all those chair photographs were soooo pretty!:) I was giggling and wincing simultaneously as I imagined a dog chewing up all those booksT.T If I could choose anywhere to sit, I’d sit on the bench right outside our school dorm on a cool fall evening with my first love, talking about the meaning of life or something=)

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 19,225 hits

Top Posts & Pages

Blog Stats

  • 19,225 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The HSD

What happens when a medical doctor becomes a stay-at-home, homeschooling mom

Stories that Must Not Die

Here, we commemorate survival.

Worldlittlelights

The journey of recording and musing over little lights

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

A FARNSWORTH A DAY

Paintings, Drawings, Photographs, Videos, Digital Art, and Words, by John Farnsworth

Riding on Water

Leaps of faith, of the equine kind

A Blog to Regret

"It's hard being a teenager, especially when you're 30"

L A F E I S T

truth slayer

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

authenticallyannamarie

exploring, creating, writing

The Queen Creative

The Business of Art & Absurdity

janyceresh

If sarcasm and self deprecating humour were an Olympic event I'd definitely qualify.

61 Musings

Musings from a 64 year old introvert.

What Lolita Eats...

Eating. Without it, I couldn't survive.

redpoppyseeds

-And art? -It's a disease. -Love? -It's a disappointment -You are a sceptic. -Defining means limiting.

osiochina

The Adventures of OSIO in Shanghai, China

benzeknees

A frustrated writer, who is her own worst enemy

FranceSays

Observations of life in France. By an adopted Française.

Front Yard to Backcountry

Cozy Homelife to The Wilderness and Back Again

quite simply

Life as I see it…

The Sale Ring

Results & Tips From McCarron Equine Appraisals

Bored in Vancouver

Bored in Vancouver

JD Kittles Photography

Sharing My Passion For Photography since 2006

The Purple Gypsy

A little cooking. A little rambling. A whole lot of coffee.

Eyes Like A Shutter / Mind Like A Lens

Photos & Ramblings from Studio B Photography

Into the dark blue sea

Original Poetry, Photography, Travel, Art, Essays

T's Adventures... Travel & Hiking Shenanigans

Just another un-important person taking up space on the internet.

Deliberate Donkey

we're telling secrets here

Feet from Shore

Photography adventures from a Spaniard living in Los Angeles

Around the World in Eighty Liters

one globetrotting couple. two forty liter backpacks.

A Flâneur Abroad

"flä-ˈnər , noun: One who strolls about aimlessly; a lounger; a loafer. "

SLR - See Love Remember

See the photos you love to remember

Just Add Attitude

A Lifestyle Blog

The German Perspective

Yours truly, madly, deeply! Lunatique

Wine and Cheese (Doodles)

Part aged wisdom, part trashy yumminess, always slightly salted observations about life, love, and living abroad

Musing by Mallie

my pictures & thoughts

Thai Thai Again: Traveling from Buddha to Buda until I was Shanghaied but I was Born in the U.S.A.!

My bags are packed and sadly I must leave Thailand, Hungary and Shanghai. I'm back in the U.S.A. and ready to keep on traveling!

My Thai Travel Tips

All you need to know about backpacking on a budget

the wanderatory

lessons in adventure, aimlessness and alchemy

theadventuresofmyfeet.wordpress.com/

Follow my feet as i travel through life...Just a big kid living out her dreams :)

Where Could I Be Now?

Follow Me On My RTW Trip

the bippity boppity beautiful blog

create something beautiful - Katie Ann De Crescenzo

Mary Ward Art

Drawings, Paintings, Embroidery, Paper, Mixed Media

When Life Hands You Lemons...

Figuring life out, one post at a time.

